night fall

For this assignment, we had to use a long exposure to capture movement over an extended period of time.
Casillo_NightPhoto1

Ball of Fire

I tried mimicking the ball of light technique, so I had a friend twirl his fire staff, being sure to rotate with the staff acting as the center, rather than himself. Shutter speed was 15 seconds. Afterwards, I increased the exposure, and adjusted the hue to more of an orange.

Casillo_NightPhoto2

Stay Alive

I used my iPhone light for this photo, with both an EKG and the album art for Arctic Monkeys’  AM for inspiration. I ended up slightly off center, but I liked the look of it compared to my more centered light art. After, I just tried to blend the background to be more solid so as to let the art shine.

Casillo_NightPhoto3

See, Hear, Speak

I set my shutter speed at 15 seconds, and had Jane place her hands over her eyes, ears, and mouth for five seconds apiece, so as to have her hands show up, rather than have completely blurred motion. I adjusted the levels in photoshop afterwards.

Casillo_NightPhoto4

razzle dazzle

My friend had purchased a new DC converter, so I figured I could get some use out of it for this photo. I plugged the converter into a car, and then plugged in Christmas lights. I had one friend drive very slowly, and then reverse, while another friend was in the backseat, spinning a length of colored lights. In editing, I just upped the vibrance and saturation.

Casillo_NightPhoto5

waiting game

I set my shutter speed at 30 seconds, and attempted to both: get changing lights and moving cars. Some takes the lights didn’t change, and others, they changed with one car making a turn or no cars at all.  I think this combines both elements fairly well.

Leave a comment